The Collector (II)

Library Brazil

Real Gabinete Portugues de Leitura Rio de Janeiro
(from Candida Höfer, Libraries).

Isn’t it said of Psyche that she lost love for having tried to understand it? If the verb “make” were to replace the verb “understand,” we would have the life history of every couple on earth.
So my fingers have lost their passionate stutter and learned to flatter unknown skins as their humor dictates.
I’m joking.
I’m nitpicking.
I get the same sort of pleasure out of rearranging my library once a year.

From René Crevel, My Body and I.

Leave a Reply

