The Collector (V)

Trinity College Library, Dublin

Trinity College Library, Dublin. From Candida Höfer, Libraries.

I asked her, “Could we kiss for a little bit?” “Excuse me?” she said, although, on the other hand, she didn’t pull her head back. “It’s just that I like you, and I think I can tell that you like me.” She said, “I don’t think that’s a good idea.” Disappointment #4. I asked why not. She said, “Because I’m forty-eight and you’re twelve. “So?” “And I’m married.” “So?” “And I don’t even know you.” […]

“Here’s my card,” I told her, when the cap was back on the lens, “in case you remember anything about the key or just want to talk.”

OSKAR SCHELL

Inventor, jewelry designer, jewelry fabricator, amateur entomologist, francophile, vegan, origamist, pacifist, percussionist, amateur astronomer, computer consultant, amateur archaeologist, collector of: rare coins, butterflies that died natural deaths, miniature cacti, Beatles memorabilia, semiprecious stones, and other things

E-mail: oskar_schell@hotmail.com
Home phone: private / cell phone: private
Fax machine: I don’t have a fax machine yet

From Jonathan Safran Foer, Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close.

Leave a Reply

